Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with Coconut and Walnuts

I avoided oatmeal cookies and all things oatmeal related for many years. Not exactly sure why. Actually, I remember watching a cartoon version of Oliver Twist or some other orphan rags-to-riches story (where all the characters are played by cats). There’s that famous scene in the mess hall in which Oliver asks, “Please, sir, can I have some more”—some more totally gross gruel that plops and slaps onto the plate and then jiggles when it lands. I think from that time, I associated oatmeal and oatmeal cookies, cream of wheat and any kind of breakfast cereal with sad, little Oliver and the grody glop he had to eat.

Some time last year, I decided to get over this fear of breakfast cereal. It’s good stuff. Let’s face it, though, hot oatmeal isn’t pretty—it just looks gross, bubbling and slopping around in the pot—but it’s love food. From your mom, to your kids, to your loved ones and to yourself. Because it’s so good for you. But I’m digressing. I didn’t make oatmeal; I made oatmeal cookies. They’re not exactly good for you (so much sugar and butter), but they are mighty fine and tasty.

The recipe I ended up going with is one from Smitten Kitchen, which I found on The Nerd’s Wife’s website (cute name). It’s half of the original, I believe, which is perfect because one dozen regular sized cookies is plenty. I followed the instructions exactly, except I did everything by hand (being stand mixer-less) and added giant coconut flakes and walnut pieces to the mix. I’ve listed both as optional, but would highly suggest putting them in! More texture, more flavor, you know? Also, I baked for 10 minutes. The cookies were still a bit goopy in the middle, but that’s how they should be. As they cool on the silicon mat, they firm up, at which point you can move them to a rack to cool. My friend Natalie and I couldn’t wait; as soon as they were firm enough, we gobbled them up (one each—we’re not gluttons πŸ˜› )

Anyway, try them. The cookies are soft and chewy and stay that way for a few days.

Enjoy!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with Coconut and Walnuts (adapted from Smitten Kitchen via The Nerd’s Wife)

printable recipe

Makes one dozen standard-sized cookies.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup (1 stick or 4 oz) butter, softened

2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 large egg, at room temp.

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/4 cups rolled oats

3/4 cup raisins

1/4 cup large coconut flakes (optional)

1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped or broken up with hands (optional)

METHOD

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 F.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the sugars, butter, egg and vanilla.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, soda, cinnamon and salt.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture and mix well.
  5. Add the oats, raisins, coconut flakes and walnuts; stir together well.
  6. Drop by the tablespoon on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone mat. They should be about two inches apart. (I made two batches of 6 each.)
  7. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes until the edges have just started to turn brown. (They’ll be quite soft and the centers still gooey when they come out, but don’t worry; they should be.)
  8. Let them cool for a bit to firm up before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ronnie Gray  On June 12, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    Oh My God these are definitely the best cookies I’ve ever tasted! We’ve got a winner! I just made 2 batches/1 dozen large cookies. I can’t wait to share em!

    • Theresa  On June 16, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      Glad you liked them πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

