Another Reason to Love this City: Tartine Bakery

I always mean to do more reviews, so finally I have one to share.

I went for lunch with some friends (my “San Francisco parents”) at Tartine Bakery & Cafe about a month ago. And the verdict?

Fantastic sandwiches: crusty toasted bread, fresh and well-paired filling ingredients, and lots of oozy, ripe cheese.

As for dessert: not so OMG wow, but good. Perhaps I am a bit of a snob when it comes to sweets. It’s not about size for me, it’s about flavor and aesthetics. I want dessert to be small and elegant; a few generous spoonfuls bursting with the freshest tastes and textures. Not a gigantic portion of which after four bites you get bored with.

Here’s what we had:

The Spicy Turkey (peppered turkey breast, broccoli rabe pesto, and provolone, which we asked to switch out with gruyere)

Prosciutto & Provolone (San Daniele Prosciutto with dressed arugula)

Croque Monsieur (Open-faced sandwich with béchamel, gruyere, thyme and pepper. Topped with smoked Niman Ranch ham.)

 

And for dessert, which I forgot to take pictures of, we had the brioche bread pudding, tres leches cake with coconut milk, an eclair, and of course, lattes and espresso from the coffee bar.

Anyway, I’ll definitely go back, especially for their sandwiches and lattes! I have to admit disappointment with the desserts, but it’s not a Tartine thing, it’s an American thing. Tartine still has one of the best selections around, including some seasonal offerings. So yes, I will be back!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

