A Portland Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving has come and gone, as has the madness of Black Friday, Black Friday Weekend and Cyber Monday. I was in Portland again, surrounded by family, friends, and tons of yummy food. The only thing missing was my little brother who’s still off in Thailand right now teaching English and riding elephants. (I’m not kidding—that’s what he is or at least was doing!)

So I did some cooking and baking over the holidays. That is an understatement: I cooked and baked and in between, I planned, roasted, pureed, kneaded, rolled, whisked, melted, chopped, sauteed, stewed and assembled. I used the holiday as an excuse to go a little nuts. Hey, it’s fun for me. Here’s what I made (recipe/photos to come):

Swiss Braided Bread / Zuepfe (my pride and joy)

Peruvian Causa (my mama’s favorite)

Mushroom and Roasted Eggplant Moussaka (cinnamon and oregano DO go together)

Japanese Kabocha Pumpkin Pie (beautiful texture and so creamy)

Coconut Flan (luscious, smooth coconut custard)

We also had all the usual Thanksgiving dishes, which I helped make (and managed to take a couple pics of):

Celery filled with blue and cream cheese (my Nana’s recipe)

Roasted Turkey + Celery-Apple Stuffing with Cranberries (also Nana’s recipes, albeit slightly adapted)

Green Bean Casserole

…and all the other sides and sauces.

I wonder what I should make for Christmas??? 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sally Richardson  On December 26, 2010 at 2:06 am

    Hi Teresa,

    Thank you so much for your great cooking! I’ve enjoyed spending time with you and your family over the holidays. And getting to know you better has been fun!

    I think your comments, recipes and photography are all very well done. Good Job!

    Blessings,

    Sally

Leave a Reply

