For the Love of Carbs Bread Pudding

What a simple yet completely brilliant idea bread pudding is. How often do I bake bread? Weekly. And how often do I end up with stale leftovers which I have to throw away? Um…always. (-_-“) Oh, for the love of carbs…

This is another dessert I had never tried until now. Probably because in my head when I think “bread pudding” I think of a tuna sandwich (my favorite), but in pudding form. Kinda gross to imagine it, actually. Also, when I see it on a menu, there always seems to be something better…like tiramisu (oh…) or cheesecake (oooooh…) to eat. Since trying it, however, I’ve decided I’ve been quite unfair to this homely, little dessert. It’s sweet, carby, warm and comforting—perfect snuggle-on-the-sofa-in-your-snuggy dessert, that’s what it is. (Does this snuggy reference mean I have to get one now? :P)

I can’t say I’d choose bread pudding over a big, fat slice of creamy NY cheesecake. Still, I’m glad to have it on my dessert radar. Oh, and now that I’m no longer afraid of bread pudding, I can’t wait to experiment with both sweet and savory versions…oooooh, like a savory tuna version, i.e. breakfast strata or tuna noodle bread casserole, sounds reallly tasty! (^_^)

Enjoy!

Whole Wheat Bread Pudding (adapted from a recipe from A Homemaker’s Habitat)

Makes one 8-inch springform cake tin

INGREDIENTS

1/2 loaf whole wheat bread (mine had cranberries and sunflower seeds in it), preferably stale

1 cup milk (I used non-fat)

1 cup heavy cream

1/4 cup (2 oz) unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 1/2 eggs, beaten lightly (I used 1 jumbo, and I’m sure 2 large would’ve been fine too)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

3/4 cup brown sugar, packed firmly

METHOD

  1. In a medium-sized mixing bowl, tear the bread up into bite-sized pieces. Set aside.
  2. In another medium-sized mixing bowl, whisk together milk, cream, butter and eggs, followed by the cinnamon, ground nutmeg and brown sugar until combined.
  3. Stir the custard mixture into the bowl with the bread until thoroughly combined. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  4. Pre-heat the oven to 350 F, with the baking rack in the center.
  5. Into a greased 8-inch springform cake tin or small cake pan, pour the bread-custard mixture. Bake 1 hour, or until golden and puffy on top. (According to the original recipe, the pudding should “wiggle slightly” when shaken.)
  6. Allow to cool for 5 or so minutes before slicing/serving. You can also serve it at room temperature or cold with a fruit sauce, custard (yum…), ice cream or whipped cream.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

