Cotton Soft Japanese Cheesecake

Calling this a cheesecake is a bit misleading. It’s really more like a cream cheese pound cake in flavor and somewhere in between pound cake and angel food cake in texture.

It’s light and airy like a souffle and modest in sweetness and cream cheese flavor. Quick to put together too! I’ve noted all my “tips” below 😛 I also only made half the recipe. Unfortunately, I realized too late that my brother still has my little springform bottom, so I had to use the full-size springform, which is why my cake looks so squat. Despite appearances, it came out perrrrfectly!

Enjoy!

Cotton Soft Japanese Cheesecake (Recipe adapted from The Little Teochew)

INGREDIENTS

140 g superfine sugar

6 egg whites

6 egg yolks

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

50 g unsalted butter

250 g cream cheese

100 ml milk (I used non-fat)

1 tbsp lemon juice (I skipped this)

60 g cake flour (I shouldn’t have, but I did—I used all-purpose, sifted 3 times, and it was fine. P.S. I bought cake flour today 😛)

20 g cornstarch

1/4 tsp salt

8-inch cake pan or springform, lightly greased and bottom and sides lined with parchment paper

large baking tray (for the bain marie/water bath)

METHOD

  1. Melt the cream cheese, butter and milk over a double boiler; set aside. Once cooled, fold in the flour, corn starch, egg yolks, salt, and lemon juice until combined.
  2. Using a handmixer, whisk the egg whites until just foamy; add the cream of tartar and continue mixing for another 10 or so seconds. While mixing, gradually add in the sugar. Mix until soft peaks form. (Be careful not to overmix. Too stiff peaks will weigh down the batter and may cause your cake to collapse more during baking.)
  3. Pre-heat the oven to 325 C (160 C).
  4. With a rubber spatula, gently fold 1/3 of the egg whites into the cheese batter. (This will bring the batter consistency closer to that of the egg whites and result in less air loss.) Gently and quickly fold in the remaining egg whites until completely combined. Pour the batter into your prepared cake pan/springform. (If using a springform, rap the base of your cake tin with aluminium foil to prevent seepage.)
  5. Bake the cheesecake in the center of your oven in a water bath for 1 hour 10 minutes or until set and golden brown.
  6. Leave to cool in the oven with the door ajar for about 1 hour. (Sudden changes in temperature may cause the cake to cool too quickly and collapse.)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Hubert Fletcher  On May 28, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Heh am I honestly the only reply to your amazing article!

    • Theresa  On May 28, 2010 at 10:59 pm

      Yes, you are. And I’m so glad you did!! Have you ever had Japanese-style cheesecake? It’s one of my favorites. Do let me know if you try to make this one. Would love to know how it goes!!

Leave a Reply

