Grapefruit Bars. Just for Me.

I’ve been so stressed lately, I swear I’m going to develop an ulcer (-_-“). It just seems like everyone wants a piece of me right now. Sigh.

So even though I have a million things on my plate, I still made time to bake these cute grapefruit bars.

The original recipe used Meyer Lemons and is from Alpineberry (one of my favorite blogs). I love Meyers but these sad, little grapefruits have been sitting in the fruit bowl for weeks now, crying out for help. They turned out so great in this recipe. You don’t need any special gadgets, and it takes all of 1 hour—from start to finish—to whip them up. Really.

These weren’t for anyone or for any special occasion. These are for me. (^_^)

Hope you like them.

Ruby Red Grapefruit Bars (adapted from alpineberry)

Makes one 8-inch square pan

INGREDIENTS

Crust

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/8 tsp salt

4 oz (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold and cut into 1/2 inch pieces (I bet you could get away with reducing this to 1/2 stick for a lower-fat version)

Filling

2 large eggs

1/2 – 2/3 cup extra fine sugar (my grapefruits were really ripe and sweet, so I only used 1/2 cup)

2 tbsp all purpose flour

1/8 tsp salt

the zest of 2 grapefruits, grated (ruby reds or yellow; I used rubies)

1/3 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit

METHOD

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350F. Butter and line an 8-inch square pan with parchment paper.
  2. Prepare the crust: sift flour, confectioners’ sugar and salt into the bowl of a food processor. Add butter and pulse until the mixture is pebbly. (You can also do this by hand) Press mixture evenly into the bottom of your prepared pan. Bake until lightly golden, about 18-20 minutes. Set aside crust.
  3. Prepare the filling: In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, sugar, flour and salt. Whisk in grapefruit zest and juice until well combined.
  4. Pour filling over the baked crust (It’s okay if crust is still hot). Bake until filling is just set, about 15 – 18 minutes (I needed only 15). Cool completely before serving. Dust with confectioners’ sugar if desired.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

