And Then I Baked Bread…

At Liam’s request, I baked bread for Christmas dinner.

I’m actually quite hesitant about bread-making at my parent’s house; something always goes wrong—the yeast doesn’t foam, I’m missing ingredients and tools, I get distracted by the noise. This time, however—no problems to report. Maybe it was me, maybe it was the recipe. All the recipes I’ve used from Baking Bites have turned out well (her recipe for Blueberry Drop Scones, which I talked about in a previous post, is a good example of this).

This bread is nutty, sweet and moist but not too dense. It reminds me of the kind of everyday bread they sell in the bakeries in Germany—a good solid loaf that can be eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It would be really good for sandwiches, I think. The crust wasn’t as crunchy as I would have liked, but perhaps next time, I’ll brush a little water on the top for the last 10 minutes of baking.

I was totally distracted when I made this (and am totally distracted trying to do my write-up now) but was still able to produce a great loaf of bread that the entire family loved!

Honey and Flaxseed Bread (taken from this recipe on Baking Bites)

Makes 1 loaf.

INGREDIENTS

2 1/2 tsp active dry yeast

1/4 cup honey

3 tbsp ground flaxseeds

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 cup water, warm, divided

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1 – 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour, plus extra for kneading (I used 1 1/2 and just a little for initial dusting)

1 1/2 tsp salt

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. In a large bowl, stir together yeast with 1/4 cup of the warm water and let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes.
  2. Stir in honey, flaxseeds, vegetable oil, remaining water and 1 cup white whole wheat flour, mixing until smooth.
  3. Add in 1 cup of the all purpose flour, along with the salt, and stir until a dough starts to come together and pulls away from the sides of the bowl. Add additional flour gradually until dough is no longer sticky. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 5-8 minutes, adding additional flour as needed.
  4. Shape into a round, place in a lightly oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and set aside to rise until doubled, about 1 1/2 – 2 hours.
  5. When dough has risen, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and gently shape it into a slightly oblong loaf. Bake at 400 F for about 35 minutes, until the bread is a very dark brown, and an internal read thermometer inserted into the center of the loaf reads 200F.
  6. Cool bread on a wire rack before slicing.
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

