Mood Buster Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Biscotti

I had a peppy post all prepared for this recipe, but now it just seems dishonest to publish it.

Because I feel like crap right now. And all I feel like doing is stuffing my face with cookies and crying into my milk. Unfortunately, however, I can’t do that. I’m leaving for Peru in two weeks—where it’s summer and where I will have to wear a bikini. So, because I don’t plan on rolling the beaches of Lima like a mama bear going into hibernation, I must find innocent people to feed. Sniff.

The recipe I used is an amalgamation of ingredients and methods from Quaker Oats’ recipes for Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, Coconut Oatmeal Biscotti and this Oatmeal Cookie biscotti recipe from Baking Bites.(Gosh, I hope she doesn’t get mad at me for using and loving her recipes so much). On the whole, everything went according to plan. The biscotti were a little wetter than I expected after the first round of baking. My original bake-time was 20-10-10, but I ended up increasing this to 20-15-15. Perhaps next time I’ll make the first round of baking go 30 minutes.

When I baked these, my entire kitchen was filled with the sweet smells of cinnamon, sugar and oatmeal. And when the little darlings finally cooled and I was able to taste one, my heart filled with the kind of soothing feeling that only a fresh-from-the-oven baked cookie can give.

I’m totally in love with the idea of transforming a beloved cookie into biscotti form. The possibilities for adaptations are limitless!

All this biscotti baking and brainstorming has put me in a much better mood…thank goodness! (^o^”)


Mood Buster Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Biscotti (adapted from Quaker Oats and Baking Bites)

Makes ca. 20 one-inch thick biscotti

INGREDIENTS

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour

1 cup quick cooking oats, plus extra for sprinkling

3/4 cup raisins

1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

3 large eggs, at room temp.

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

a pinch of grated nutmeg

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 F. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.
  2. In a larger bowl, use a hand-mixer (on medium speed) to whisk together the eggs, gradually adding in the brown sugar and then the vanilla until fully combined and the mixture has lightened in color and in density.
  3. Pour the dry ingredient mixture, plus the raisins and chopped walnuts into the wet; use a wooden spoon or spatula to mix together completely, until stirring becomes somewhat difficult. (The batter will seem a little wet at first, but keep stirring; the oats will eventually absorb most of that moisture.)
  4. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil. Divide the batter/dough into 2 piles on the cookie sheet. Moisten your hands with a little water and then pat, form and smooth out the piles, incl. tops and edges, into your desired length and width. (Mine were logs ca. 6×3 in.)
  5. Place on the middle rack of the pre-heated oven and bake for 20 30 minutes.
  6. After the first baking round, reduce the oven heat to 325 F. Then, remove the sheet from the oven and allow to cool ca. 10 minutes.
  7. Once cooled, slice at a diagonal (forgot to do this) into 1-in. thick pieces. Place the slices back onto the cookie sheet and bake for 15 10 minutes. Flip to the other side and bake for a final 15 10 minutes.
  8. Remove the tray from the oven. Place the biscotti on a wire rack and allow to cool completely before serving. (I suggest waiting until at least the day after baking before eating.)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

